The little things

I’m sure you’ve all heard somebody tell you “sometimes the littlest things are the most beautiful.” And not to be anymore cliche but they are totally right. I live in an apartment not far from some train tracks and every single night around midnight, I always hear it’s loud horn as it huffs and puffs along to wherever it may be headed. During the first weeks of this happening, naturally I would dig my head in the pillow thinking “when will it STOPPP.” Until one day when all was quiet and all I could hear were the chirping of crickets, along came the long and powerful “chooo chooo” of the train coming down the tracks, I just thought wow. That is actually really cool. The originality in that sound. The fact that I can hear that sound at all. The fact that I have two ears attached to my head that channel all of the sounds that I hear into my brain that then registers exactly what sound it is that I’m hearing. It is all so mind blowing. Your body has so many working parts that all in a team effort keep your heart beating and your blood flowing and allows you to live another day. This whole earth has different systems and people that work together to make it go round. Somebody went to college and had to learn how to put trains together, he then made that very train that chugs along not far from my house. There are then people who load the train of whatever is needed to be transported, that train is then sent across the city/state/country to its destination where different people will take it from there. It’s just so insane to think about how all of the tiny details in the world are so important in the grand scheme of things. The littlest things are so intriguing, you just have to be still enough to notice. Not to even get started on the beautiful great big green trees of Nacogdoches, TX, yellow butterflies, the warm rays of the sun, the white puffy clouds in the sky, the cool breeze blowing your hair back, the colorful blooming flowers in the fields, I could go on and on. I can’t express to you how awesome it is to know that God knows exactly how many grains of sand are on the beach and how many hairs are on your head. He created this fabulous beautiful world and made everything perfectly so the world could survive and thrive in his name. If you ever find yourself going through life too fast, take a step back, look around, and appreciate all of the small things that make life so beautiful.

“Through him all things were made; without him nothing was made that has been made.” John 1:3

2 thoughts on “The little things

Leave a Reply

